Saturday, May 18, 2013

When Love Calls

When Love Calls is the first book in the Gregory Sisters series by Lorna Seilstad.  The year is 1908, and Hannah Gregory goes from female law student to the sole provider of her two younger sisters when her parents pass away.  Lincoln Cole is a young attorney who has to inform the Gregory girls that their home is foreclosed and makes an instant enemy of Hannah.  Even with the initial hostility, Lincoln is drawn to Hannah and the needs of her family.  Hannah becomes a switchboard operator to support her sisters.  She reluctantly finds herself relying on Lincoln from help with her sisters to legal matters, which is difficult for her fiercely independent nature.  From leaving college, to becoming a parent to her sisters, to getting swept up in an arsonist mystery and trying to keep Lincoln from grabbing her heart, Hannah’s story is as unique and fun as she is! 

Seilstad’s writing style is very witty and I really enjoyed this novel!  Hannah, Lincoln and her sisters are such likeable characters and I know the next books in the series will be just as fun!  Seilstad is extremely knowledgeable about the time era, subject matter and De Moines, Iowa which made for a very authentic read.  The history of the switchboard operator was really interesting and the love story could not be sweeter.  The arsonist mystery makes the plot very exciting.  This is a great book that I highly recommend. 

Provided by the Publisher for Review

Available May 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group

No comments:

Post a Comment