Sunday, January 13, 2013

Waiting for Spring

Waiting for Spring is Amanda Cabot’s second book in the Westward Winds series.  Charlotte Crowley lives in fear for her life and that of her young son.  Her husband’s sins seem to follow her like a ghost and she fears that his partner in crime will find her and her child and demand a treasure that does not exist.  Charlotte has worked very hard to start a new life as a dressmaker and provide for her child who has special needs.  She lives a very private life so that they will not be discovered and doesn’t need any man complicating that.  Barrett Landry started with nothing, but is now one of the richest cattle barons in Wyoming territory.  His ambition doesn’t stop there and as he enters a life of politics he needs the perfect wife to help campaign and secure the election.  A widow shrouded with mystery could only hinder his future, but Barrett feels drawn to Charlotte against his best intentions.

I enjoyed the first book in this series, Summer of Promise, but I thought this one was much better!  A great deal of background is offered in the first book of the series, but this could still be read and enjoyed as a standalone.  Charlotte is strong, independent and devoted to protecting and enhancing her son’s future.  Barrett has spent his life trying to prove his worth to find as is the case in real life that money and power does not bring happiness.  It was wonderful to watch their dreams collide and merge into one and see Barrett protect the independent Charlotte even when she did not see God brought them into each other’s lives for a reason.  I thoroughly enjoyed it and highly recommend it!

Provided by the publisher for review

Available January 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
Waiting for Spring: A Novel (Westward Winds)

1 comment:

  1. I'm absolutely delighted that you enjoyed Waiting for Spring enough to highly recommend it. Thanks for taking the time to read and review my book.