Friday, January 4, 2013


Betrayal is the second book in the Where the Heart Lives series by Robin Lee Hatcher.  Hugh Brennan has a haunted past but has found a fragile peace in his new found faith in God.  As a drifter with a bleak future, Hugh has resolved to find his two long lost sisters and reestablish family ties that were ripped away from him as a child.  On his way to find his oldest sister Felicia (introduced in Belonging, the first book of the series), he encounters Julia Grace, a widowed ranch owner who offers him short-term work.  Julia is as beautiful is she is mysterious and has just as many secrets as Hugh.  Hugh is drawn to Julia, but fears her disdain if she were to ever learn his past.  Julia is wary of any man because of what her husband did to her, but doesn’t realize she needs Hugh’s protection and maybe something much more from him.  God’s ability to give beauty for ashes is found in Betrayal. 

I read the first book in the series, but this could be read as a stand-alone without any confusion.  I liked Belonging, but I thought this one was even better.  Hugh and Julia’s pain comes across as very real and raw across the pages.  Julia is not looking for love, but just the ability to get through each day on her own.  Meeting Hugh changes that need for independence, but watching her learn to trust again shows God’s ability to heal each and every wound.  Watching Hugh realize that he is not defined by his past but as a new creation in Christ was pure joy for me.  As Hugh and Julia fight to save the ranch they realize that trusting God and learning to trust each other is what really matters.  I am looking forward to the third installment in the series.

Provided by the Publisher for review
Betrayal: A Novel (Where The Heart Lives)

No comments:

Post a Comment