Sunday, January 13, 2013

Waiting for Spring

Waiting for Spring is Amanda Cabot’s second book in the Westward Winds series.  Charlotte Crowley lives in fear for her life and that of her young son.  Her husband’s sins seem to follow her like a ghost and she fears that his partner in crime will find her and her child and demand a treasure that does not exist.  Charlotte has worked very hard to start a new life as a dressmaker and provide for her child who has special needs.  She lives a very private life so that they will not be discovered and doesn’t need any man complicating that.  Barrett Landry started with nothing, but is now one of the richest cattle barons in Wyoming territory.  His ambition doesn’t stop there and as he enters a life of politics he needs the perfect wife to help campaign and secure the election.  A widow shrouded with mystery could only hinder his future, but Barrett feels drawn to Charlotte against his best intentions.

I enjoyed the first book in this series, Summer of Promise, but I thought this one was much better!  A great deal of background is offered in the first book of the series, but this could still be read and enjoyed as a standalone.  Charlotte is strong, independent and devoted to protecting and enhancing her son’s future.  Barrett has spent his life trying to prove his worth to find as is the case in real life that money and power does not bring happiness.  It was wonderful to watch their dreams collide and merge into one and see Barrett protect the independent Charlotte even when she did not see God brought them into each other’s lives for a reason.  I thoroughly enjoyed it and highly recommend it!

Provided by the publisher for review

Available January 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
Waiting for Spring: A Novel (Westward Winds)

Monday, January 7, 2013

Change of Fortune

Change of Fortune is first time author Jen Turano’s novel.  Lady Eliza Sumner has come to America disguised as a governess to reclaim her stolen fortune.  As she tries to discretely investigate the culprit, she is thrust into the path of New York’s society’s most eligible bachelor, Mr. Hamilton Beckett.  Eliza doesn’t need to draw any attention to her or get distracted from reclaiming her inheritance by a handsome man when she is determined to return to London.  Hamilton has his own mystery to solve and has no desire to form any attachment to any woman, but finds himself drawn to Eliza and her circumstance.  Eliza and Hamilton find that they must team up because both the villains in their lives seemed to be intertwined. 
This book is my new favorite!  I was so impressed with the witty plot and could not stop laughing through the whole book.  This book has a wonderful cast of characters and the storyline is very creative with many twists and turns as the mystery mounts.  The sparks between Eliza and Hamilton are not only funny, but very endearing and sweet.  This book has all the ingredients for a great read and I couldn’t put it down.  I cannot wait for the next installment in the series coming out next summer.  Don’t miss out on this book!

Provided by the publisher for review
Change of Fortune, A

Friday, January 4, 2013


Betrayal is the second book in the Where the Heart Lives series by Robin Lee Hatcher.  Hugh Brennan has a haunted past but has found a fragile peace in his new found faith in God.  As a drifter with a bleak future, Hugh has resolved to find his two long lost sisters and reestablish family ties that were ripped away from him as a child.  On his way to find his oldest sister Felicia (introduced in Belonging, the first book of the series), he encounters Julia Grace, a widowed ranch owner who offers him short-term work.  Julia is as beautiful is she is mysterious and has just as many secrets as Hugh.  Hugh is drawn to Julia, but fears her disdain if she were to ever learn his past.  Julia is wary of any man because of what her husband did to her, but doesn’t realize she needs Hugh’s protection and maybe something much more from him.  God’s ability to give beauty for ashes is found in Betrayal. 

I read the first book in the series, but this could be read as a stand-alone without any confusion.  I liked Belonging, but I thought this one was even better.  Hugh and Julia’s pain comes across as very real and raw across the pages.  Julia is not looking for love, but just the ability to get through each day on her own.  Meeting Hugh changes that need for independence, but watching her learn to trust again shows God’s ability to heal each and every wound.  Watching Hugh realize that he is not defined by his past but as a new creation in Christ was pure joy for me.  As Hugh and Julia fight to save the ranch they realize that trusting God and learning to trust each other is what really matters.  I am looking forward to the third installment in the series.

Provided by the Publisher for review
Betrayal: A Novel (Where The Heart Lives)

Bible Stories that end with a Hug!

Bible Stories that end with a Hug has 75 bible stories for preschoolers.  The bible stories presented follow the same order as the bible and are very short and easy to understand for little ones.  Accompanying every bible story are two questions that correlate with the story to help children discuss and understand the bible story.  Discussion points are provided with each question to help parents guide meaningful discussion with their child as they learn God’s word.  There is also a related scripture that helps expand the meaning of every story in the book.  Every bible story ends with a hug time for parent and child! 

I have a 4 year old and a 1 year old and they love this collection of bible stories!  The illustrations are so precious and endearing that my children were immediately drawn to the book.  The stories are short and are easy for toddlers and preschoolers to understand.  The questions and discussion points have really impacted my children understanding the story and how it applies to them.  Our favorite part is the hug time at the end of each story!  Bible Stories that end with a hug! has become a very special part of our day!  I would highly recommend this book!

Provided by Tyndale Publishers for review
Bible Stories that End with a Hug!